FIFA Awards: Follow along live as the hardware is handed out

Updated: December 17, 2020

Follow along as Sportsplay provides live updates from The Best FIFA Football Awards show, where the world’s top players and managers of 2020 will be recognized with individual hardware.

Best Men’s Coach

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Klopp led Liverpool to their first top-flight title in 30 years, steering the Reds to first place with 32 wins out of a possible 38 matches. He’s also helped turn Anfield into a fortress – even without the presence of fans. Liverpool are currently unbeaten in their last 66 league matches at their home ground.

Best Women’s Coach

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Wiegman led the Dutch national team to the final of the 2019 Women’s World Cup, where they bowed out to the United States. But the trip to FIFA’s showpiece event galvanized the public in the Netherlands and increased interest in the women’s game. Wiegman is now set to take over as manager of England’s national team.

Best Men’s Goalkeeper

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)

Neuer enjoyed a comeback in 2020. At risk of losing his place as the No. 1 goalkeeper for Bayern Munich and the German national team, the World Cup winner reclaimed his status as one of the world’s best shot-stoppers. He won the treble with Bayern and played every minute of their triumphant Champions League campaign.

Best Women’s Goalkeeper

Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon and France)

Bouhaddi, 34, won the Women’s Champions League for a seventh title in August, backstopping Lyon to a 3-1 victory in the final. She was named UEFA’s Goalkeeper of the Season, having kept five clean sheets in the tournament.

Puskas Award (best goal)

Heung-Min Son: Tottenham vs. Burnley (Dec. 7, 2019)

Mark Leech/Offside / Offside / Getty

Tottenham’s Son, who beat out Flamengo’s Giorgian De Arrascaeta and Barcelona’s Luis Suarez for the Puskas Award, earned worldwide acclaim for his virtuoso effort against Burnley. The 28-year-old skipped past several defenders before streaking on goal and finding the back of the net.

The following awards are still to come today …

Best Men’s Player

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

Best Women’s Player

  • Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England)
  • Pernille Harder (Chelsea and Denmark)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon and France)

Men’s FIFA FIFPro World11

The 55 players shortlisted for the men’s team of the year can be found here.

Women’s FIFA FIFPro World11

The 55 players shortlisted for the women’s team of the year can be found here.

Translate »